Contact Us 


Member Login

Welcome to MedChi, The Maryland State Medical Society.  
As the statewide professional association for licensed 
physicians, we are dedicated to our mission to serve as 
Maryland's foremost advocate and resource for physicians, 
their patients, and 
public health.

Friday, September 25, 2020
You are here : About MedChi  >  Organization Structure  >  Board of Trustees
Board of Trustees

MedChi’s Board of Trustees is responsible for overseeing the operations of the organization within the policies established by MedChi’s House of Delegates.  The Board provides strategic direction and oversight for the organization and is chaired by the President.

The responsibilities of the Board of Trustees include (but are not limited to):

  • Budget approval, prior to presentation and ratification by the House of Delegates
  • Appointment and oversight of the Chief Executive Officer
  • Oversight of MedChi’s financial reports and audits
  • Approval of committee appointments
  • Oversight and approval of lobbyists

Board meetings are held eight times per year.  The Board meets on the third Thursday of January, February, March, May, July, September, and November, and the Board holds an additional meeting immediately following the fall House of Delegates meeting to elect the Secretary and Treasurer and approve committee appointments.

Board members are expected to:


  • Review and keep handy the MedChi BOT Handbook
  • Serve on at least one committee or as an officer of a component society
  • Be a member of the Maryland Medical Political Action Committee
  • Attend a political event or fundraiser annually (either on behalf of MMPAC or on behalf of themselves)
  • Serve one day as First Aid Room Physician of the Day, attend a component legislative day, and/or testify on a bill on behalf of MedChi
  • Utilize the MedChi Agency or have them review insurance annually
  • Attend Board of Trustees and House of Delegates Meetings, as well as the President’s Gala
  • Annually recruit a new MedChi member successfully

2020-2021 Board of Trustees Members

To contact a Board of Trustee Member, please click here.

Michele Manahan, M.D.
Baltimore, MD

Shannon P. Pryor, M.D.
Chevy Chase, MD

Immediate Past President
Benjamin Z. Stallings, M.D.
Lanham, MD

Speaker of the House
Loralie D. Ma., M.D.
Fulton, MD

Vice Speaker of the House
James J. York, M.D.
Millersville, MD

AMA Delegation Representative
Harbhajan Ajrawat, M.D.
Greenbelt, MD

Anne Arundel County Trustee
Douglas S. Mitchell, M.D.
Hanover, MD

Baltimore City Trustee
Anuradha D. Reddy, M.D.
Ellicott City, MD

Baltimore County Trustee
Kevin Carr, M.D.
LUtherville, MD

Montgomery County Trustee
Carolyn B. O'Conor, M.D.
Rockville, MD

Prince George’s County Trustee
Jagdeep Singh, M.D.
Ellicott City, MD

Eastern Group Trustee
Rene Desmarais, M.D.
Salisbury, MD

Southern Group Trustee
Melvin S. Stern, M.D.
Highland, MD

Western Group Trustee
Aaron George, D.O.
Hagerstown, MD

Trustee at Large
Brooke M. Buckley, M.D.
Annapolis, MD

Trustee at Large
Padmini Ranasinghe, M.D.
Baltimore, MD

Specialty Society Trustee
J. Michael Niehoff, M.D. 
Baltimore, MD

IMG Section Trustee
Vasant Datta, M.D., C.M.D.
Hagerstown, MD

Resident & Fellow Section Trustee
Jillian Irwin, M.D.
Baltimore, MD

Student Section Trustee
Elisabeth Fassas
Baltimore, MD

Chief Executive Officer
Gene M. Ransom, III
MedChi, The Maryland State Medical Society
1211 Cathedral Street, Baltimore, MD 21201

Contact Us

MedChi is your resource.  Please contact us with any questions, comments, or concerns.

1211 Cathedral Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 800.492.1056